Not a virtual wedding, people.

You know, I know the Glamour magazine writer meant no harm, but the story has been picked up and I feel like we need to clarify something, again:

We are not having a virtual wedding.

I repeat: We are not having a virtual wedding.

No one is live-blogging the ceremony, or live-streaming it, or anything. We are documenting our trip, just like any other travelogue, only during ours we’re getting married, too. OY. If I have to read one more nasty comment about us and this blog I might flip out, and I don’t want to do that on the cusp of something that’s supposed to be a happy time.

I still maintain that people get the wrong idea about life as it’s lived online, which is to say that anything you write about or post online isn’t somehow real. I imagine in a few years, when a younger generation, whose lives are lived online as well, and they’re the main consumers of our society, people will have to get over their fears and misconceptions about being online. Either that or perish. I’m not saying you need to do what Scott and I are doing – which is NOT having a virtual wedding, Judgey McJudgertons! – but you do need to stop being so afraid of the world online that you ignore it and poo-pooh it at every turn. I think a lot of the seemingly angry comments that we got have to do with people making grand assumptions and having some pre-conceived notions about doing anything online.

Just the same, I wanted to clear it up for anyone because it’s been bugging me for days, every since the Glamour post came out. Not a virtual wedding, people. Calm down.

10 responses to “Not a virtual wedding, people.

  1. 99% of the people who have given you shit about a virtual wedding are freaks. 1% are dumb. So there, see, nothing to worry about.

    I’ve been reliving my (beautiful) elopement while reading about yours, so screw the freaks and dummies and thanks for sharing.

  2. And “virtual wedding” should have said “virtual wedding” in “quotes,” you know, indicating that I understand it’s not a “virtual wedding” and all.

  3. You can imagine how weird it is to see your smiling mugs on the Yahoo home page. For you, I visit Glamour’s website.

  4. Erin – I just read those comments on Yahoo and I am angry that people are trying to make your wedding into something thy have the right to judge. Keep your chin up and enjoy y”all’s wedding.

  5. A virtual wedding! SQUEE!

    (Sorry, Erin, couldn’t help myself – Coll.)

  6. So I won’t be able to get the wedding pay-per-view on Comcast, then?

  7. So it’s just a virtual marriage then? I kid. I kid.

    Best of luck and all my wishes to you guys! Remember – the marriage is yours – not anyone else’s (it doesn’t even matter what we think about it) and I think you got that part covered and protected very well. Many, many happy years! I shall eat some cheese in your honor.

  8. Thank you SO much you guys – it means so much to both of us!

  9. Who are these people who have so little time on their hands that the judge people onlne? Jeez.

    Congrats and have a great time!

  10. People like to get mad about things, and they like to judge. Actually reading the source material and finding out that there’s nothing to get high-horsey about is no fun – much easier to just pass judgment. But even if it was a “virtual wedding,” geez people, we’ve got a lot worse things happening right now than what two folks do for their marriage!

    Short version: forget the haters, they trippin.

Leave a Reply

